Home Computer How to Hide Drives from Others on Windows 7 PC

How to Hide Drives from Others on Windows 7 PC

0

Don’t want others to access all the drives on your Windows 7 PC? Here is how you can hide drives from users on Windows PC.

Although, Windows allows the users to create separate profiles for different users  thus allowing you to have more privacy. But, still users can access specific drives in case they are using your account.

Fortunately, Windows also allows its users to restrict other users from accessing any specific drive on your personal computer. You can hide drives from other users on your Windows 7 PC using Policy Editors. However, before you proceed with make sure that you have Windows 7 Professional / Ultimate or Enterprise version as group policy editor is only available on these versions.

Hide Drives from Users in Windows 7

Here is how you can hide Drives from users in Windows 7 PC using Group Policy Editor.

Step 1: Open Microsoft Management Console. To do this type in mmc in search bar after click on Start button. Now right-click on mmc.exe and select run as administrator to open it.

Step 2: Now in Console 1 tab, click on File and select Add/ Remove Snap-in.

Step 3: Next, select Group Policy Object Editor under Available Snap-ins and click on Add button.

Step 4: Next, click on Browse button.

Step 5: Next, click on User tab and you will see a list of user profiles created on your PC. Now select a user profile in which you want to hide drives. Click on OK to proceed.

Step 6:  Once selected, click on Finish.

Step 7: Next, click on OK in the Add or Remove Snap-ins window.

Step 8: Now in the Console window, go to User Configuration, then click on Administrative Templates > Windows Components > Windows Explorer.

Step 9: Next, in Setting section double-click on Hide these Specified drive in My Computer.

Step 10: Select Enabled,  and below that select which drive you want to hide in Pick one of the following combinations. Once selected, click on OK.

There you go! Now restart your PC and login as the same user for which you have hidden the drive and you will not see the hidden drive anymore. Well, at least until you disable it.

LEAVE A REPLY