How to Setup Restricted Profile in Android

0
android-robot-edit

Restricted profile in Android is one of the most useful features that Google added with the release of Android 4.3 Jelly Bean. If you are a tablet owner and your tablet runs on Android 4.3 Jelly Bean or above version then Restricted Profile can save you from getting into trouble because of unauthorized access. In short, Restricted Profile feature limit the access that others have to features and content on your tablet.

Here are few occasions where Restricted Profile will come in handy:

  • Parental Control: You can restrict your family member’s access to specific apps and features only
  • In Retail Stores: You can use this feature to allow your customers to explore the tab, but can prevent them from accessing web and playing games on your tablet.

Recommended Read: How to Stream Videos / Music from PC to Android Phone Using WiFi

How to Setup Restricted Profile in Android

Now, if you want to know how to set up restricted profile on your Android tablet, follow this step-by-step guide.

Note: Only owners of the tablet can create restricted profile.

Step 1:  Go to Menu and tap on Settings.

Step 2: In settings, tap Users and then on Profile (Add users).

Step 3: Next, you will get a pop-up window with two options namely User and Restricted Profile.

Step 4: Tap on Restricted profile.

Step 5: In the next window, you will be asked to set up screen lock. Tap on set lock, select security option from Pattern, PIN or Password and type in your new password to set up screen lock. If you already have a screen lock enabled then proceed with next step.

Step 6: Now you will see a new profile page with a list of apps and features like camera, browser, Gallery, etc. You can also see that all the apps and features are showing off except settings. You cannot turn off settings; it will remain ON by default. Now tap on any app that you wish to add in restricted profile. Tapping again on the same app will turn off the app.

Step 7: Once you have selected the apps and features to include in the restricted profile you are all set. You can change the profile name by simply tapping on it.

How to use Restricted Profile

Using Restricted Profile is easy. Once you have completed all the steps you are ready to use it. To access it, put your tablet into sleep mode by tapping on the power button. Next time when you will wake your tablet you will see two user profile on the lock screen area. Tap on the newly created user profile and enter a password. Here you can access only those apps and features you have given permission for or you have selected in step 6.

How to Delete Restricted Profile user

If you ever want to delete restricted profile user, then you can do this by few taps. To do this follows these steps.

Step 1: Open Menu, tap on Settings.

Step 2: Next, click on Users.

Step 3: Tap on Trash icon next to profile.

That’s it! You have successfully deleted the user profile.

By following the above steps, you can set up restricted profile in Android 4.3 Jelly Bean Tablet.

Read Also: How to Restore Android Phone and Android Tablet to Factory Setting

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here